Lahontan Funding Area

The Lahontan Funding Area covers much of Eastern California, from the Northeast corner of the state all the way down to the Mojave Desert, and includes a variety of geographic features. There are six IRWM Regions in the Funding Area: Lahontan Basins, Tahoe-Sierra, Inyo-Mono, Antelope Valley, Fremont Basin, and Mojave.

Disadvantaged Community Involvement Program

The Disadvantaged Community Involvement Program in the Lahontan Funding Area is being coordinated by the California Rural Water Association. The Lahontan Basins, Tahoe-Sierra, Inyo-Mono, Fremont Basin, and Mojave regions are involved in the DACI Program.

Grantee: California Rural Water Association

Grant Award: \$2,450,000 Grant Start: January 2018

Needs Assessment: In Progress

Integrated Regional Water Management Regions*

Lahontan Basins

The Lahontan Basins region is governed by a Regional Water Management Group, a Technical Advisory Committee, and Special Interest Workgroups and stakeholders. Susanville Indian Rancheria is one of five entities that make up the RWMG. The Honey Lake Maidu, Honey Lake Paiute, Pit River Tribe, and Washoe Tribe of Nevada and California are listed as stakeholders in the Planning Group according to the 2015 IRWM Plan Update.

Tahoe-Sierra

The Tahoe-Sierra region consists of the Partnership, a RWMG, and subcommittees. The Partnership includes all entities who have signed onto the MOU, and the Partnership chooses representatives to join the RWMG and fulfill grant coordination purposes. The Washoe Tribe of Nevada and California is a Partnership member according to the 2019 IRWM Plan Update.

Inyo-Mono

The Inyo-Mono IRWM Program includes a Regional Water Management Group (RWMG), an Administrative Committee, and ad-hoc working committees. The RWMG is the main decision-making body and includes members who have signed the MOU. The Administrative Committee has had up to 2 Tribal representatives on the committee at the same time and typically has had at least one Tribal



representative. In addition, the Chair of the RWMG has previously been a Tribal representative. Five Tribes (Bishop Paiute, Big Pine Paiute, Fort Independence, Bridgeport Indian Colony, and Lone Pine Paiute-Shoshone) and the Owens Valley Indian Water Commission are members of the RWMG. The Inyo-Mono region last updated its plan in 2019.

Antelope Valley

The Antelope Valley region's governance structure includes the RWMG, the Advisory Team, and the Stakeholder Group. The RWMG consists of water and land management public agencies. The Stakeholder group is involved in providing input throughout IRWM processes. The Antelope Valley identified Tribal interests through the NAHC and conducted outreach to potential Tribal stakeholders as part of the 2019 Plan Update.

Fremont Basin

The Fremont Basin is governed by a Regional Water Management Group that works with a Stakeholder Group and Working Groups. The RWMG consists of the City of California City, Mojave PUD, and Antelope Valley-East Kern Water Agency. The Tubatulabal Indian Tribe and Tejon Indian Tribe have been identified as stakeholders and other Tribes were also contacted as part of outreach for the 2018 Plan.

Mojave

The Mojave Region is governed by a Regional Water Management Group made of 5 local agencies and a Coordinating Committee of representatives from each agency in the RWMG. Stakeholders and Plan participants make up the remaining interests in the area. The San Manuel Band of Mission Indians and the Twenty-Nine Palms Band of Mission Indians are identified as being included in stakeholder outreach as per the 2014 Plan Update.



^{*} Information on each Integrated Regional Water Management (IRWM) region was gathered from publicly available information from the region's website or IRWM plan. This information may not reflect the most recent or accurate understanding of Tribal engagement in the region. Please contact the IRWM region for additional information.

Contact Information

Lahontan Funding Area

Disadvantaged Community Involvement Program (DACI)

DACI Program Contact

Holly Alpert, Inyo-Mono IRWMP

holly@inyo-monowater.org

Department of Water Resources DACI Grant Manager

Marisa Perez-Reyes, Financial Assistance Branch, Department of Water Resources

Marisa.Perez-Reyes@water.ca.gov

Integrated Regional Water Management Contacts

Lahontan Basins

Ian Sims, Honey Lake Valley Resource

isims@honeylakevalleyrcd.us

Tahoe-Sierra

Lynn Nolan, South Tahoe Public Utility District

Inolan@stpud.dst.ca.us

Inyo-Mono

Holly Alpert, Inyo-Mono IRWMP

holly@inyo-monowater.org

Antelope Valley

Kirk Allen, LA County Department of Public Works

kallen@dpw.lacounty.gov

Fremont Basin

Craig Platt, City of California City

pwdir@californiacity-ca.com

Mojave

Tom McCarthy, Mojave Water Agency

tmccarthy@mojavewater.org

